Ludwig Wittgenstein

Ludwig Wittgenstein (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

                                                        The limits of my language are the limits of my world.

 

Who was Lugwig Wittgenstein? Ludwig Josef Johann Wittgenstein (26 April 1889 – 29 April 1951) was an AustrianBritish philosopher who worked primarily in logic, thephilosophy of mathematics, the philosophy of mind, and the philosophy of language.[1] He was professor in philosophy at the University of Cambridge from 1939 until 1947.

In 1999, his posthumously published Philosophical Investigations (1953) was ranked as the most important book of 20th-century philosophy, standing out as “…the one crossover masterpiece in twentieth-century philosophy, appealing across diverse specializations and philosophical orientations”  “ He once said he felt as though he were writing for people who would think in a different way, breathe a different air of life, from that of present-day men.”

I saw this quote on Pinterest ( I love that site- a guilty pleasure) and checked out the translation.  It really got me thinking. Do we THINK about things?  I mean really THINK about them?  Read the quote again and tell me what YOU THINK.

Do you agree?  What does this mean as we think about young children and their language?  What does it mean connected to our language with young children?  I am conflicted.  On one hand, I believe that children’s language is about their world, what they know.  It is an ever expanding universe as they discover new things.  Yet this quote seems to limit.  Or does it?   Maybe it challenges young children and all of us to learn new “languages” in order to expand our worlds! What are your thoughts on this quote?

